X
  GO
de-DEen-US
Info and contact

Media centre/Library

HZI, Inhoffenstr.7, 38124 Braunschweig

Room W0.40: plant layout
 

The HZI-library is open 24/7.
inside the library

 

Service hours:

Mo      - Fr 09:00am - 04:30pm
Phone

(+49)0531/6181-1164 (+49)0531/6181-1160

Mail bibliothek(at)helmholtz-hzi.de or via Form

 

Which relevant databases are accessible?

Publications of HZI and affiliated institutes

  • and the HZI Repository with all OpenAccess-publications of HZI, HIPS und Twincore which were published in postprint (= a preceding review-procedure before publication)

 

 

External access to databases, journals and e-books
As members of the HZI, HIPS, HIRI or Twincore you have the opportunity to access our licenced content (e.g. databases, journals/articles etc.) from an external (remote campus) computer :

Please note:  Licenced content is accessible in full text on campus , when you are off-campus please use connect (/VPN)Remote access guide via connet/VPN (Intranet) --> authentificate with your personal login data (the one for PC, mail), this guide is at: Intranet > Wissenschaft > Bibliothek > Downloads

On the connect-entry page (after authentication) you will now also find "Electronic Journals" and "PubMed", which shortens the click path. Make sure that "connect.helm..." is always part of the URL as then your device is part of the IP-ranges that enables the access of our subscribed content.

 

Licenced databases

  1. Scopus ( interdisciplinary bibliographic database, only accessible on campus)

 

  1. SciFindern (biggest chemical database worldwide, more details at page Scifindern, only accessible on campus) => please contact the library's manager Mr. A. Plähn for login data

 

  1. SpringerNature Experiments (=platform for searching four protocol and method resources simultaneously: Springer Protocols, Nature Protocols, Nature Methods, and Protocol Exchange, providing easy access to more than 50,000 protocols and methods. )

 

  1. IEEE Xplore (over 3 million technical documents from Journals, IEEE Xplore digital library Conference papers and Standards)

 

  1. Journal Citation Report (JCR) / Incites (displays the impact factor of a specific journal, only accessible on campus, new interface with journal metrics and enhanced statistical query options)

 

  1. the bibliographic database PubMed (consists of bibliographic data and abstracts of articles of the subject areas medicine, chemistry, biology, biochemistry)

 

Licenced tools:

  1. BrowZine (Journal-App) see also ScienceTools for more details

 

  1. Docoloc (plagiarism finder tool) just register with institutional mail address and send us your user-ID see also intranet-page on Docoloc

 

  1. Labfolder (Labfolder is an electronic laboratory notebook, see Labfolder-portal (guide etc.): Labfolder sign-In for HZI & HIRI - and on a separate server for HIPS -further information also in Intranet )

 

  1. RADAR (archiving system for research data) -more details soon

 

  1. SciFlow (collaborative writing tool with the following journal templates -more details on SciFlow on page Sciencetools and in Intranet)

 

  • via DBIS* all the existing databases

DBIS advanced search

* With DBIS you are able to get an overview of all databases that exist - not only the ones that are licenced by us but also open access or other databases.

Via "Erweiterte Suche"/"Advanced Search", e.g. search category "Beschreibung" / "description" you can find out with a broad search term which databases consist of those pieces of information of your interest. Please keep in mind that the search option only uses the metadata of DBIS (the information about the databases). DBIS provides a link to the databases where you can search the pieces of information that you need for underpinning your research or supporting a theory. (Unfortunately there is no english version of this portal until now.)

(last update: 26. Nov 2020)